Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

On the Menu

We are under the sky

And under a tree

He’s underground

And under me.

Can he hear me?

I can’t hear him.

A bird hears him fine,

His future is grim.

I don’t dig for food,

I don’t peck in the dirt.

I don’t have a beak,bird food

So I think it would hurt.

We are both animals,

We both have DNA

But “Pizza’s for dinner!”

Is what my genes say.

But birds do

As birds please.

They want worms,

Not mac n’ cheese.

I look away,

Not quick enough.

Bird sucks the worm

Down with a “sschhluff!”

This text is utter nonsense that I pounded out for fun before making dinner and is not intended to be anything in particular.  Still, feedback is always appreciated.
© Katie Bieker, 2013.

One comment on “On the Menu

  1. slepsnor
    March 4, 2013

    It’s cute poem/story with a bouncy rhythm. I like the sudden slip into basic genetics. I have to remember to claim that my genes are requesting pizza for dinner.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2013 by in Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

