Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I’ve been tagged by Legends of Windemere for ‘The Next Big Thing Blog Hop’. Thank you so much for this recognition and for the opportunity to be interviewed about my projects.

1. What is the working title of your book? I am working on multiple projects, all of which can be viewed under “This is My Work” on my website. These pieces are mostly children’s books, some of board book length and some picture book. There are all excerpts from a young adult novel I have been working on.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book? Children’s literature has always been a part of my life. My mother read to us daily, the classic kids’ books that I now read to my children. I enjoy watching my kids go about their lives with wonder, each day a new adventure. I’m trying to tap into that fresh perspective and write stories that will speak to them in a way they can understand about topics that they hold dear.

3. What genre does your book fall under? Children’s Literature

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? NA

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? My books use the words and perspectives of children to make their everyday moments seem like adventures.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I am planning to electronically self-publish some of the shorter pieces in a complication book, but hope to find representation soon so that my longer books can be published in print. I think it’s important for children’s books to be beautifully illustrated and available in print in order for them to reach their full potential as tools for bonding, educating and inspiring.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I am trying to post something on this blog nearly every day. The children’s books take anywhere from one hour to several hours to write, depending on how many times I walk away, reread and rewrite. I also continually look back at them and make small edits.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I want for my books to be simple, story-telling pieces. I am inspired by books like “Blueberries for Sal” and “The Little Engine that Could.” I want the story to tell itself without LED lights or built-in pieces of fur to touch… I am concerned about the trend toward overly stimulating kids’ books. I want to create classic stories with rich, memorable characters.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book? My children inspired me, directly and indirectly. Their actions and experiences inspire my stories, and having them in my life has inspired me to want more time building a home and raising my family. I don’t want to lose 40 hours a week to a windowless office where my potential is not being utilized. I have a creative mind and experience educating. It became apparent to me that my goal should be to capitalize on those skills and impact young minds while living my ideal lifestyle.

10. What else about your book might piqué the reader’s interest? My stories are clean and simple, frequently funny and appealing to both kids and their parents.

Blog Hop started on She Writes and has spread like a wildfire. If tagged, use this format for your post. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation. Answer the ten questions about your WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible. Tag five other writers/bloggers by sending them an email or commenting on their blogs and then add their links to the end of your interview post. Their answers should go up the week after. Take your time. Post when you are ready. The blog post should be labeled: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

Here are the writers I’m tagging. Please check out their blogs.

Again, thank you to Legends of Windemere for including me in this great Blog Hop.

2 comments on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. slepsnor
    February 22, 2013

    I know you’re always looking for feedback, so I thought you might be interested in a Facebook sight that Gwen Bristol just made. It’s called Authors Promoting Authors and it’s supposed to help authors find people for reviews, feedback, and share information. Here’s the link if you’re interested:

    http://www.facebook.com/groups/541390635891859/

  2. domain
    October 13, 2014

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog
    and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by in All Work.

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

