Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

Maggie’s House

I am going to Maggie’s house for a slumber party. She is my very best friend. I met her at school but she is also in my ballet class. I have never slept at a friend’s house before. But I am very good at going to bed and I am not afraid.

Every night, after eating a snack and brushing my teeth, Daddy reads me a book. Mommy helps me give my hamster Tiki some water and food. We find my soft doll Polly. I snuggle into my bed with my blue cloud sheets and turn on my princess nightlight. Then Mommy and Daddy sing me songs, kiss me goodnight and I fall asleep.

I am five now and I don’t need those things to sleep. Maggie’s parents can read me a book. Mommy and Daddy will feed Tiki. Polly is at home, but she won’t miss me for just one night. She is in my bed with my cloud sheets. She won’t need the nightlight or the songs or the kisses because she cannot see or hear or feel. I will not need them either because I’m five.

If you are a book publisher or agent, it would be my pleasure to share the entirety of this story with you.  Please do not hesitant to contact me.

One comment on “Maggie’s House

  1. slepsnor
    February 12, 2013

    This is a great story and I think almost every person can relate to being homesick as a child. This definitely sounds like a book that you would read to young children to get them comfortable with the idea of sleepovers.

Leave a Reply

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

