Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

The Tree and The Squirrel

Tree said to Squirrel, “I want to live,

I want to climb and run.

To see the forest as you do,

To scamper in the sun.”

Squirrel said, “Dear Tree, don’t worry,

You’re alive, please understand.

Year after year you change and grow

Though you’re rooted in the land.”

 

If you are a book publisher or agent, it would be my pleasure to share the entirety of this poem with you.  Please do not hesitant to contact me.

7 comments on “The Tree and The Squirrel

  1. slepsnor
    February 8, 2013

    That’s a great story. Though, the woods growing dark at the end felt a little foreboding. Was that the intent?

    • Katie Bieker
      February 8, 2013

      What about now? Better? 🙂 I sure value your feedback!

      • slepsnor
        February 8, 2013

        Very peaceful. Sorry about making it harder. The metre and rhyme schemes of poetry is why I stick to haikus. It drives me nuts every time I try.

        • Katie Bieker
          February 8, 2013

          Oh no no, I didn’t mean you made it hard. It was just more of a challenge than the others I’ve written because the rhythm was so weird. I think it’s better now, but I’m not real happy with it. I like the idea a lot, so I want it to be really good and I’m not satisfied with it as is. But, that’s the point of posting stuff on here… get feedback, keep looking back to the work with fresh eyes and keep improving! The tip about the darkness at the end was perfect; I like it much better now.

          • slepsnor
            February 8, 2013

            You’re welcome. It is always good to get feedback. Makes all the hard work worth it.

  2. Katie Bieker
    February 8, 2013

    Uh, nope. Suppose to be peaceful. I’ll look into that. I’ve already made some changes because the metre was off in places. This was a tougher one, it’s going to take some edits…

  3. Pingback: Mother Earth’s Creations | Katie Bieker

Leave a Reply

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

