Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

Begin with eBooks?

Okay, fine folks.  Self publishing via Amazon.  Any thoughts?  I’m sure it’s not a good long term answer for a serious author, but it sure looks like a sweet deal if you’re just wanting to get some work out there.  I would love to amazonget a feel for what response I can expect from the public.  How compelling that you can edit the book whenever you want…  You set the price, you format…  Has anyone tried this?  I’m fascinated.  As a computer person (by current employment at least) this is a comfortable niche for me.  “Tally ho!” or “tally no”? 

4 comments on “Begin with eBooks?

  1. slepsnor
    January 28, 2013

    I have a lot of friends who have been rather successful. One author that I befriended left his publisher to go with Amazon because the author gets more of the profits and has more control. They do have a plan that anything priced $2.99 or more has a 70% royalty rate if that helps. I’m working on publishing my books through it once I get my cover art (I should just get a t-shirt that says this) and plan on sticking with Amazon. It can be a great way to get a fanbase and get the attention of agents and publishers. There have been a lot of authors who started on Amazon before they were found.

    • Katie Bieker
      January 28, 2013

      Oooh now I’m really excited. It really did sound good, but almost too good to be true. Or too easy at least. But now I either have to learn to draw (HA!) or find an illustrator if I want to do one myself…

      • slepsnor
        January 28, 2013

        I wish I could help you with the illustrator. I’m sure there are forums where you can find an illustrator, but I don’t know how much that would cost.

        As for Amazon, I have heard that it is easy to get onto it, but the trick is marketing. Though, you already have a blog which is one of the more powerful tools.

  2. katmwehr
    January 28, 2013

    I know that many authors do this to generate a fanbase to show off to publishers when they’re shopping their work around. My strategy is to publish some short stories for free that way to do just this.
    However, lots of authors have been huge with Amazon. Their Kindle Direct package is especially popular for helping spread the word about your work. I think it’s a fine way to get started in publishing. It definitely is a great way to gauge whether your work can hold its own in the market. Best of luck and also, thanks for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in All Work and tagged , , , , , .

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

Visit My Travel Blog for Parents

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

