Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

Walking with Daddy

This morning is special. I get to walk to school with my Daddy. When I look out the window I see that the sidewalk is dry and the sky is blue. I will not need my umbrella or my boots. My backpack is a little heavy, but I am strong enough to carry it a long way. The front door slams and a bunny runs away scared. Time to go!

There are tiny green leaves on the trees. It is spring. The ground is getting warmer and the plants are starting to grow. Daddy stops me and points to the dirt. Short sticks of green are poking out and reaching for the sun. Daddy says that in a few days, they will be flowers.

If you are a book publisher or literary agent, it would be my pleasure to share the entirety of this story with you.  Please do not hesitant to contact me.

7 comments on “Walking with Daddy

  1. slepsnor
    January 28, 2013

    That was a nice story with very clear descriptions. It sounds like it would work for a children’s book when matched up with pictures.

    • Katie Bieker
      January 28, 2013

      Thanks so much, that means a lot! It’s been easy for me to visualize how these books would look. But it seems like a real challenge to sell that concept to other people. The text just seems so simple and choppy in this format. I will be very paranoid about sumitting to publishers something so sparse, but from what I’ve read, that’s exactly what you do! If anyone reading this has experience with trying to get children’s books published, I’d love to hear your stories or at least hook me up with your blog so I can follow it. Thanks again, Slepsnor!

      • slepsnor
        January 28, 2013

        My best friend’s father published a children’s book called Goblin Giggles after he retired. He teamed up with a friend who could draw and he had a few contacts already. He went with Little Simon Publishing, but I can ask my friend if he knows about the process.

        Also, I know from a friend who is a children’s librarian that the typical method is an author submits and they have a staff artist do the pictures. So, you’re probably right and that’s how it’s done.

      • slepsnor
        January 28, 2013

        My friend got back to me quicker than I thought he would and I was wrong on a few things. His father teamed up with a coauthor who had contacts at a Manhattan publisher. They wrote several poems and presented them to the publisher. The publisher had an editor choose the best poems and they put one of their staff artists on the book.

        • Katie Bieker
          January 28, 2013

          I certainly don’t have any artistic ability or know anyone that does. I am fine with staff artists, but of course have to get my foot in the door. Thank you for contacting your friend; that’s an interesting story. It’s helping to hear how these things come about as I’m very new to the process.

          • slepsnor
            January 28, 2013

            You’re welcome. I’ve been trying on and off to get published for over 10 years. I still feel like a newbie for the most part and I think I always will. Good luck.

  2. Pingback: Still Walking With Daddy | Katie Bieker

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2013 by in Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

Visit My Travel Blog for Parents

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

