Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

Daredevil

I have been a very brave girl today. I wore a white shirt to a Mexican restaurant, allowed both children very large ice creams late in the afternoon and, most importantly, told Mom and Dad about my writing efforts. I am not comfortable sharing this with the people in my life. I’m not sure I’m going to tell anyone else for quite some time.

You see, most of what I’ve accomplished in the past decade has been a direct result of either handouts or leaps of faith by those who care about me. True, they’ve also trusted me and have been impressed by my work. None the less, one could argue that I haven’t done much to deserve to be where I’m at. This has put me in a “can’t look a gift horse in the mouth” situation. I don’t ever want to complain about my job because they took a risk on me. I like to think it paid off for them. It certainly has for me. This was a huge opportunity and I know that. I mean, for Pete’s sake, I have my own office with little pictures and cartoons on the wall!

But I want a win that’s all my own. I want to have some success writing and for it to be because I took the initiative and because of my skills and work ethic. I’m afraid to tell anyone that I have a new goal because I’ve proclaimed too many initiatives that have subsequently failed. Not to mention, this one’s a real doozy. This is like hearing, “I’m moving to New York because I’m going to be on Broadway!” “I’m heading to Hollywood to be in movies!” “Hey, Mom and Dad! I’ve been coming up with ideas for children’s books and I’m going to get published!” Yeeeeeah right. But unlike science, nursing, teaching, computers… I intend to see this through. I don’t know how many more chances I’ll have to follow a passion. So let’s get it right this time.

So I am pleased with myself because today I have been brave. There is no salsa on my shirt, the girls are quietly watching a movie and Mom and Dad were excited and supportive. I am blessed to have good people in my life. They may not completely understand where my mind is or why this is so important, but I know they will be kind and encouraging. Will I continue to be brave? Who else should I tell and in what order… or will I just go nuts and launch this rocket to the moon? By the moon I mean Facebook…

Not yet. Baby steps. Maybe for now I should just focus on writing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2013 by in And Some Play.

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

