Katie Bieker

Author – Science, Environment, Travel, Children's Books

My Inspiration

The sun is coming through the windows in streaks through the blinds.  My kids are playing in the streaks and being super cute. Laura just turned two and is sweet, social, goofy and nurturing. At the moment, however, she’s a teething mess of nasty. But in general…

Abbey is five (and a half, as she’d be quick to point out). If Laura is my friendly puppy, Abbey is my cautious kitten. Do NOT touch her until she says so. Do not tease her or corner her. Give her lots of room to come up with her own plans and pray that she includes you. Her kindergarten teacher says she’s going to be some kind of creative genius. I can see that. Her play is complex with made up worlds and words. Her understanding of right and wrong is advanced and she is so very stressed about the world around her, especially perceived injustices. This makes her just horrifically challenging now, but will hopefully serve her well in the future.

I enjoy watching their faces as they go about their business. It always makes me smile when I really how big things seem through their eyes. The smallest moments, the tiniest details… don’t you remember from when you were little that one bright blue light on that one store on that one corner? It was beautiful and it’s the only thing you remember about that entire street, but you saw it every week of your young life. I hope that when I write I can capture the magic of that vantage point.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2013 by in And Some Play and tagged , , , , , , , .

Visit “Katie’s Traveling Kids: A Travel Blog for Parents”

Visit My Travel Blog for Parents

MKBIEKER@GMAIL.COM

Follow Katie Bieker on WordPress.com

Member – SCBWI

Level 3 Certified Contributor

Recognition

